top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSara Popp

OtterDogKid

On the sand is Ben's bike, helmet, and shoes. The black dot out in the bay is his head. He's fully clothed, sitting in the shallows. When we rode down to the sea, we talked about how cold the ride home would be if he decided to get wet, but the call of the water won.


Ben is 8, a sturdy little fellow with an all-in personality. Because it will amuse him, I throw a packet of peanut butter crackers into the bay. He fetches them like a dog after a stick. After opening them with his teeth, he leans back to munch, knees and arms out of the water, letting the wavelets nudge him around like a strange and satisfied otter.


A quintessential California kid rides up on an impossibly tiny bike, all blond curls. From the dock where I sit, he gazes out at the bay and spots Ben. "Aw shit!" he laughs. He calls out, "Is the water cold?" Grinning at me, he takes off, yelling over his shoulder to Ben that he's going home to get his wetsuit, and rides away. Ben cackles happily at how silly he looks on the itty bitty bike.

Soon the kid comes back back in board shorts and booties, on a scooter this time, and splashes into the water all elbows and knees. He's older than Ben by a few years, but it doesn't seem to matter. The sand and seaweed flies as they tumble around in the water.

The sun is well hidden now, behind low fog, and the wind kicks up. I'm freezing, but wouldn't trade this moment for the world.

There's one more peanut butter cracker packet left. I fling it as far as I can into the bay and the otterdogkids charge after it, all flailing arms and splashing hands, laughing.

Scrounging around in my panniers, I find a pair of flowered leggings and a balaclava I wear on the ride to work to shield me from the 5 a.m. air. We peel off the drenched shorts and shirt and dress him in my cozy shirt and the lucky find of soft warm layers. Me cold in my tee and Ben cozy as can be, we ride away.


Ben quickly learns that barefoot bike riding is both uncomfortable and ill advised, no matter how dirty your feet may be. And sandy shortcuts aren't shortcuts at all. Bikes get heavy being pushed uphill through sand. We find the cutest Little Free Library ever, the perfect spot for a rest break, then mosey home.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page